top of page

Scugog Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Inductees

SHAWN LACKIE Special to The Standard

The Scugog Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Inductees have three new inductees, two individuals and one team. The following is a list of the three, in no particular order.

Georgia Brock was the primary player in creating the Port Perry Figure Skating Club and the club's first president. Georgia introduced organized tennis instruction to Port Perry High School students, first teaching the sport in the back parking lot. She was the driving force behind the creation of the Port Perry Tennis Club, established in 1969, and was very involved in the negotiations with the Township to build the downtown tennis courts. Georgia was also a Sports Hall of Fame member in 2006-2010, during her term as Scugog Councillor.

Mike Haigh has received many accolades and awards for his achievements as a competitor and promoter of arm wrestling. He has been instrumental in developing the sport locally and internationally, as a successful competitor and in administration positions. He founded arm wrestling clubs in Port Perry and England.

The Greenbank Gamblers sports organization has been the pride of Greenbank for decades. The moniker was first used for a Greenbank hockey team, in the 1950s, and was later adopted by Greenbank softball teams. In the 80s, Greenbank Gamblers played competitively in local leagues. The teams of 1986 and 1988 competed in the Ontario Amateur Softball Association (OASA) Intermediate Divisions, bringing home Championship banners. Sponsored by Lloyd and Marion Lee, managed by Rodd Foster and coached by Steve Foster, these two teams, consisting of mostly Greenbank residents, were part of an exciting and well-respected ball club which had great success, winning tournaments and league championships for over 17 years.

They will be inducted into the Scugog Hall of Fame, on April 25th.

37 views0 comments


bottom of page