top of page

2022 Scugog Sports Hall of Fame Induction a Rousing Success


Special to The Standard

SCUGOG: Thursday, April 21st, saw the induction of the latest round of people called to the Hall. The Scugog Hall of Fame, that is. A crowd of over 200 witnessed the induction of Ian Roberts, Kelly Plitz, Waylon Roberts, Kate Bierness and the Teachers/Coaches of R.H.Cornish.

Pretty powerful evening. Keynote speaker Gary Edgar regaled with stories of his youth and getting to where he ended up. Ian Roberts gave a short heartfelt speech about what the induction meant to their family. There were also acknowledgements made for up-and-coming athletes Alexandra McDougall and Justin Matthews. Volunteer efforts were also acknowledged, with tributes being paid to Jackie Barr, Ian Morrison, Ann Powell, Dawn Price and Dave Weller. As well, some milestones were noted. Port Perry Snowmobile Cub for its 50-year anniversary, Blackstock Men’s Hockey League for 25 years, and the Flamingo Pastries/Mojacks Junior C Hockey Club for its 50th anniversary. Some very impressive and long-standing numbers there. HOF Chair Leanne Ashbridge was pleased with the event. “We were very impressed with the number of people who appreciate the significance of honouring our sport’s history and who chose to be a part of this year’s event. Every year we strive to make this a must-attend event, and with the help of our amazing committee, hopefully, we [will] reach that goal. It just makes total sense to honour the great achievements of our local athletes.” Ashbridge added an important note. “I would like to mention we are seeking a sponsor or sponsors for our summer exhibit that will be on display in the next few weeks. And a call for nominations so we can start preparing for the event next year.”

This year marked the first time sponsors were backing presentations. Robert Young Stables, The Callery Group/Village Decor Shoppe, Debbie Taylor from Royal Lepage Frank, Precision Construction and Lake Scugog Historical Society all sponsored categories for presentation. The Hall appreciates all sponsors for stepping up and helping a most worthy cause.

That’s the thing about this group that separates it from the pack. They are always looking to next year and how to improve the overall experience. Given this little gem is in our own backyard, feel free to send donations or maybe even sponsorship dollars. They all help out. You can find more information on how to nominate someone for the Hall or to donate at: or contact Community Services at 905-985-8698.

Over the next while, we will be working on our web pages. Feedback is encouraged to make the experience a better one. Feel free to e-mail Leanne. Our thanks in advance.

For further information, please contact: Leanne Ashbridge Scugog, HOF Chairperson.

Photos Courtesy of Jonathan van Bilsen

4 views0 comments


bottom of page