top of page

Several local candidates to be acclaimed, races grow in other wards as municipal election nomination

DAN CEARNS, The Standard

NORTH DURHAM/KAWARTHA: The majority of Scugog council will be acclaimed as the municipal election nomination period has closed.

Those who now run unopposed include Wilma Wotten as Mayor, Ian McDougall as Regional Councillor, David LeRoy as the Ward 1 Councillor, and Janna Guido as Ward 2 Councillor, Robert Rock as Ward 3 Councillor and Harold Wright as Ward 4 councillor. The only race is in Ward 5, between Ivo Finotti, Terry Coyne and Imran (Louie) Mohammad.

In Uxbridge, Mayor Dave Barton is the only one who signed up for the mayor’s position. Bruce Garrod and Jack Ballinger will campaign to be the Regional councillor. Incumbent Ward 1 Councillor Pam Beach will look to keep her job but will be challenged by Dominic Morrissey. Former councillors Pat Molloy and Gordon Shreeve are looking to become Ward 2 Councillor. There is a three-way race in Ward 3 between Zed Pickering, J.P. Herold and John Haddock. Willie Popp is the lone candidate in Ward 4. Todd Snooks, Christine McKenzie and Erin Jones are running to be the Ward 5 Councillor.

Walter Schummer, Ryan Williams and Ted Smith are running for Mayor in Brock Township. There is also a three-way race to become the next Regional Councillor, with Michael Jubb, Dorothy Sanderson and David Marquis the candidates. Peter Frank and Mike Simard are running to be the Ward 1 Councillor. Claire Doble is set to be acclaimed as Ward 2 Councillor, as is Angela Canavan in Ward 3 and Cria Pettingill in Ward 4. In Ward 5, Lynn Campbell and Tony Laundrie will face off.

There is a four-way race to become the Durham Regional Chair, with incumbent John Henry facing off with Peter Neal, Kurdil Telt-Patch and Laurie Blaind Mackie.

The candidate field for Mayor of Kawartha Lakes has grown to six candidates. Current councillors Doug Elmslie, Pat Dunn and Kathleen Seymour-Fagan, join William Denby, Faye McGee and Jim Riches in this race. There are four candidates for Ward 1 Councillor, including Emmett Yeo, Jim Harris, Don Logan and Raymonde Blais Couture. Pat Warren, Jamie Brown and John Snider are running to become the next Ward 2 Councillor. Ward 3 will feature candidates Mike Perry and Doug Dickerson. There are seven candidates in Ward 4. They are Angel Godsoe, Tyler Richards, Ian Nicolson, Trevor Johnston, Jamie Campbell, Dan Joyce and David Skrabek. The race for Ward 5 Councillor includes Duncan Gallacher, Eric Smeaton, Wesley Letsholo, Gloria Graham-Weir and Janet Di Bello. In Ward 6, Ron Ashmore is seeking re-election but is being challenged by Gerard Jilesen. There is a three-way race in Ward 7, with candidates Charles McDonald, Danielle Willette and Diane Holder running. In Ward 8, Tracy Richardson will look to hold onto her council seat but will be challenged by Greg Ward.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page