top of page

Scugog Sports Hall of Fame 2023 Inductees

SHAUN LACKIE, Special to The Standard

SCUGOG: The Scugog Sports Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the inductees for the 2023 Hall of Fame Induction ceremony. The event takes place on Thursday, April 20th, 2023, at the Scugog Community Recreation Centre, and is open to the public at no charge. Doors open at 6:45 p.m. and the ceremony starts at 7 p.m. Cash bar and refreshments are provided.

Here are this year’s inductees:

Rick Finlay - President of Port Perry Angels

Rick was asked by the club founder, Don Hurst, in 1992, to take on the role of President. He has held that position for 30 years. In addition to his administrative duties, Rick coaches teams, mentors coaches, hosts tournaments and has been instrumental in supporting many of the Angels' players to obtain scholarships to post secondary schools all over the United States.

Bob Carnegie-Lacrosse

Bob played Jr hockey and was part of the Brooklin Combine team, in 1956. Playing alongside Port Perry teammates, Bill Cornish and Garnet Warriner, the team won the OHA Junior 'D' championship, in 1956.

He played lacrosse with the Brooklin Lacrosse Club, from 1957-1963, winning all Ontario championships in 1957, 1958, and 1959. In 1961-1963 he won the Senior 'A ' OLA (Ont Lacrosse Assoc) championship in all three years. Playing for the Whitby Red Wings, in 1960, he won the Ontario and Eastern Canada Jr A championships and finished second in the Canadian Minto Cup, in New Westminster, BC.

Goreski's Broomball team - 1986 All Ontario Champions

This team was the first in Port Perry to win a provincial championship. Port Perry Broomball Association was active in Port Perry from 1969 to 1999.

Team Members are: Tom Carroll, Tim Cochrane, Charlie Dennis, Dave Dickson, Ray Gibson, Mark Lee, Wayne McGuigan, Ed Olsen, Bill Owen, Tom Powell, Bill St. John, Randy Sullivan, Dan Taylor, Bart Wager and Bruce Woodrow

In addition to the Athlete, Builder and Team inductees, volunteers from Port Perry Junior C Hockey Club, Cartwright Sports and Recreation Committee, Greenbank Minor Ball and Scugog Womens Hockey League will be recognized for their contributions to these organizations. The Hall of Fame will introduce five young athletes who have excelled in their sport: Aryn Matthews, Nolan Laird, Victoria Herrington, Owen Belfry and George Tzinis have all demonstrated Scugog continues to produce great athletes.

51 views0 comments


bottom of page