top of page

North Durham and Kawartha Lakes voters once again send three Conservative politicians to Queen&#8217

DAN CEARNS, The Standard

NORTH DURHAM/KAWARTHA LAKES: Kawartha Lakes’ and North Durham’s provincial ridings are remaining Conservative, following the election on Thursday, June 2nd.

In the Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock riding, Laurie Scott has won re-election once again, receiving 25,656 votes, which is 52.7 percent of the votes cast. The NDP’s Barbara Doyle came in second place in the riding with 7,677 votes. Don McBey of the Liberals came in third, receiving 6,606 votes, and Kerstin Kelly of the Ontario Party finished in fourth place with 3,863 votes. Tom Regina of the Green Party was fifth with 3,452 votes. Ben Prentice of the New Blue Party received 866 votes, and Gene Balfour of the Libertarian party received 516 votes. 47.6 percent of eligible voters voted in the riding, according to Elections Ontario.

However, at her election party at the Pie Eyed Monk in Lindsay, Ms. Scott told The Standard she sees this re-election as a clear message from voters in the riding.

“It’s a pretty solid signal that we want to continue moving forward in the direction we have been going and [continuing] all of the investments,” she said. “I think it’s a big approval of how the Premier and the team handled the pandemic.”

Meanwhile, voters in the Durham riding got a new representative but chose the same party as the 2018 election. With Lindsey Park not running for a second term, Todd McCarthy of the Conservative party was elected as the next MPP for the riding, receiving 22,613 votes. This is 45.8 percent of votes cast in the riding.

Granville Anderson of the Liberal Party came in second in the riding with 12,276 votes. Chris Borgia of the NDP finished third with 9,168 votes, and Mini Batra of the Green Party finished fourth with 1,981 votes. Spencer Ford of the New Blue Party finished in fifth place with 1,898 votes, and independent candidate Tony Stravato was sixth with 699 votes. Lou Devuono of the Ontario Party received 686 votes. 43.5 percent of eligible voters in the riding voted in this election.

“Thank you, Durham! I am honoured to have your trust and confidence. I am ready to get to work for you,” read a post on Mr. McCarthy’s Facebook page.

Incumbent Conservative MPP Peter Bethlenfalvy will be returning to Queen’s Park, to represent the Pickering-Uxbridge riding. Mr. Bethlenfalvy received 19,208 votes, which is 44.4 percent of the votes cast.

Ibrahim Daniyal of the Liberals finished in second place with12,345 votes. Khalid Ahmed of the NDP came in third with 6,934 votes. Julia Rondinone of the Green Party finished in fourth place with 2,266 votes. Lisa Robinson of the Ontario Party received 1,790 votes, and Elizabeth Tallis of the New Blue Party received 543 votes. Hasan Syed of the Ontario Centrist Party got 76 votes, and Netalia Duboisky of the Ontario Moderate Party received 70 votes. Forty-five percent of eligible voters in this riding voted in the 2022 election. [/et_pb_text][et_pb_audio title=”ND and KL voters once again send three Conservative politicians to Queen’s Park” artist_name=”The Standard” _builder_version=”4.14.7″ _module_preset=”default” title_text=”ND n KL 3 Conservs to Queens Park June 9th, 2022″ audio=”” hover_enabled=”0″ sticky_enabled=”0″][/et_pb_audio][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][/et_pb_section]

3 views0 comments


bottom of page