top of page

Sunshine list continues to grow in North Durham, Kawartha Lakes

[et_pb_section fb_built=”1″ _builder_version=”4.4.1″][et_pb_row _builder_version=”4.4.1″][et_pb_column _builder_version=”4.4.1″ type=”4_4″][et_pb_text _builder_version=”4.4.1″ hover_enabled=”0″]

DAN CEARNS The Standard

NORTH DURHAM/KAWARTHA: North Durham and Kawartha Lakes were well represented on the Ontario 2019 Public Sector Salary Disclosure list, also known as the Sunshine List. The Ontario government released the annual list on Friday, March 20th. Former CAO Ingrid Svelnis was the highest-paid Uxbridge employee in 2019, earning $157,665.54. Treasurer Donna Condon was second, being paid $141,710.93. Ben Kester, Uxbridge’s Director of Public Works, earned $118,558. Clerk Debbie Leroux made $118,201. Fire Chief Phil Alexander was paid $116,263. Amanda Ferraro, director of community services, finished off Uxbridge’s portion of the list with a salary of $115,989. Meanwhile, Scugog saw their representation on the list grow. For the first time, three members of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation made the list. Chief Kelly LaRocca earned $179,974. Councillor Laura Colwell made $149,059, and Councillor Jamie Coons made $132,363. Scugog CAO Paul Allore was the highest-paid Scugog staff member, earning $165,673. Fire Chief Mark Berney was the next highest, with a salary paid of $129,708. Three Scugog directors made $123,009 in 2019, consisting of; Kevin Heritage from development services, treasurer Dianne Valentim and Carol Coleman of Community Services. Firefighter Training Officer Clint Walker earned $122,030 and Scugog Fire Duty Captain Todd Soomre made $120,105. Scugog Memorial Library CEO Amy Caughlin was new to the list at a salary of $118,231. Scugog clerk J.P. Newman earned $117,607 and recreation manager Craig Belfry was paid $116,162. Another new addition to the list was public works manager Rob Frasca at a salary of $109,184. Firefighter Joe Goris rounded out the list at a salary of $106,803. At the regional level, Durham Region Chair John Henry earned $206,879 and CAO Elaine Baxter-Trahair made $298,543. There were also recognizable Kawartha Lakes names on the salary disclosure list. Those include CAO Ron Taylor at $195,154, Fire Chief Mark Pankhurst at $148,566, Medical Officer of Health Lynn Noseworthy at $306,237, Police Chief Mark Mitchell at $167,503 and Paramedic chief Andrew Rafton at $137,086. In a press release, MPP Peter Bethlenfalvy talked about the importance of the list. “Our government’s priority is the health and safety of all Ontarians and we are singularly focused on our response to the COVID-19 pandemic,” he said. “However, our government has also made commitments to the people of Ontario on transparency, accountability and respecting their tax dollars.”


0 views0 comments
bottom of page