top of page

Erin O’Toole wins re-election in Durham

DAN CEARNS The Standard

SCUGOG: Conservative MP Erin O’Toole will continue to be Durham’s voice at the federal government level.

Mr. O’Toole was re-elected as Durham’s Member of Parliament on Monday, October 21st in the federal election. “I’m very humbled by the support of my community,” Mr. O’Toole told The Standard. “I feel very thankful to have earned the trust to remain Durham’s MP.” The incumbent received 30,627 votes, which was 42.3 per cent of votes cast in the riding. He prevailed with 7,328 more votes than his closest competitor, Liberal candidate Jonathan Giancroce, who received 32.2 per cent of votes in Durham. Mr. O’Toole praised the people who worked on his campaign. “We had a great team and amazing volunteers. We worked really hard,” he said. “I’m really thrilled with the campaign we ran.” Coming in third was NDP candidate Sarah Whalen-Wright, with 13,144 votes, which was 18.1 per cent of votes in the riding. Green Party candidate Evan Price took 5.4 per cent of votes, or 3,881 votes. People’s Party of Canada candidate Brenda Virtue received 1,472 votes, which was 2 per cent of the votes. Nationally, the Liberal Party will continue to govern, as they won a minority government. “I’m disappointed with the result. I don’t think Justin Trudeau deserved re-election,” Mr. O’Toole said. “But, democracy is democracy, and I respect the will of the people.” He added he will continue to do what he can to hold Trudeau to account.

10 views0 comments


bottom of page