top of page

PPHS Volleyball crowned LOSSA Champions

MELINDA WINTER Special to The Standard

The 2023-2024 volleyball season, at Port Perry High School (PPHS), has been nothing short of phenomenal, with both the girls and boys senior teams achieving remarkable success. The teams' hard work and dedication have paid off, as they were crowned Lake Ontario Secondary School Athletics (LOSSA) champions, in their respective divisions. Both teams went on to the Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA) championships, where they competed against 19 other regional AA champions, from across the province. They advanced on from the first round, and both ended up taking fifth place out of 20 teams in the province. This is a huge accomplishment for our school, and it speaks volumes about the talent and determination of our players.

In addition to their impressive wins, our senior teams were also recognized for their outstanding behaviour and attitude, both on and off the court.

The boys were awarded the OFSAA Sportsmanship Award, in November which highlights their exceptional character and respect for the game.

Not to be outdone, the girls were also given the OFSAA Sportsmanship award, at their provincial championship in March. This award is a true testament to the types of individuals, on each one of these outstanding teams, as only one team is chosen for this award each championship.

Congratulations to the following members: Josiah Benthem, CJ Tonna, Tanner Scott, Jimmy Lee, Wade Stanley, William Pelton, Markus Pennant, Caden Williamson, Parker Stanway, Charlie Arnold, Zach Adams, Brody Wall, Lance Miller, Hannah Anderson, Rachel Ashton, Louise Cohoon, Katelyn Fasolino, Grace Lyon, Rachel May, Raya McQuaig, Jaime Meyers, Payge Morrow, Peyton Phoenix, Isla Senft, and Sophia Smith.

They have brought home championships, awards, and most importantly, they have made us all proud.

74 views0 comments


bottom of page