top of page

Familiar names on 2020 sunshine list

DAN CEARNS, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, for The Standard

NORTH DURHAM/KAWARTHA LAKES: Multiple local names have made it onto Ontario’s 2020 public sector salary disclosure list, also known as the Sunshine List.

The list was released by the Ontario government last week and annually reports the names of public sector employees who make $100,000 or more.

14 Scugog township employees made this year’s list. Retired CAO Paul Allore was the highest-paid Scugog employee on the list, making $160,352. Scugog Fire Chief Mark Berney was second highest, receiving $136,980. Scugog Memorial Library CEO Amy Caughlin made $135,799. Community Services Director Carol Coleman and Development Services Director Kevin Heritage both earned $135,651. Scugog’s former clerk J.P. Newman made $129,930. Scugog Fire Duty Captain Todd Soomre earned $126,232. Scugog Fire Training Officer Clint Walker brought home $125,893. Public Works Manager Robert Frasca earned $114,146. Scugog Fire Lieutenant Joe Goris made $113,247. Planning manager Robin Prentice earned $106,157. Finance Manager Terri Barton took home $104,246. Public Services Manager Sarah White made $103,507. Former treasurer Dianne Valentim earned $103,449.

Nine members of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation (MSIFN) also made this year’s list. Chief Kelly LaRocca was the highest-paid by the first nation, making $192,623. First Nation Manager Colleen Kennedy earned $151,785. Councillor Laura Colwell was the third-highest MSIFN member, making $146,161. MSIFN finance manager Alex Condie earned $125,900. Councillor Jamie Coons made $122,735. Health and Social Services manager Nicole Blackman earned $118,672. Human Resources Manager Katherine Rowe made $123,414. Assistant Finance Manager Michelle Sadler brought home $111,077. Building and Grounds supervisor Jon Bolan earned $107,605.

Six Uxbridge township employees were on the 2020 disclosure list. CAO Kristi Honey earned $160,512. Treasurer Donna Condon made $141,496. Clerk Debbie Leroux, Public Works Director Ben Kester, Community Services Director Amanda Ferraro and Fire Chief Phil Alexander all made $116,857.

Brock Township had six employees on this year’s list. Former CAO Robert Lamb made $159,148. Former treasurer Laura Barta earned $130,462. Outgoing clerk Becky Jamieson made $112,256. Fire Chief Rick Harrison earned $109,538. Chief Building Official Richard Ferguson brought home $109,258. Public Works Director Paul Lagrandeur made $106,175.

Kawartha Lakes had several employees on the list: including library CEO Jamie Anderson ($135,731), City Solicitor Robyn Carlson ($170,902), Communications Manager Cheri Davidson ($124,612), Treasurer Carolyn Daynes ($135,731), Mayor Andy Letham ($117,249) and Police Chief Mark Mitchell ($184,152).

4 views0 comments


bottom of page